172 citiri

Forum shopping and challenges in the recognition of insolvency proceedings: Some views from the bench / 20 July 2021, Webinar

INSOL International organises

Webinar

Forum shopping and challenges in the recognition of insolvency proceedings: Some views from the bench

 20 July 2021

Zoom

Moderator: Judge Mirela Nicoleta Nastasie, INSOL Fellow, Bucharest Tribunal, Romania
Speakers:
– Judge Anna Elisabeth (Elsbeth) de Vos, Amsterdam District Court, The Netherlands
– Judge Martin Glenn, United States Bankruptcy Court for the Southern District of New York, USA
– Mr. Justice Richard Snowden, Royal Courts of Justice, UK

Programme:
The panel of judges will inter alia discuss the following issues (under the wider theme of forum shopping and challenges in the recognition of insolvency proceedings) from the standpoint of their individual jurisdictions:
– The legitimacy of forum shopping as a general principle.
– Forum shopping and the public policy exception as a ground for refusing recognition.
– The factors and criteria taken into consideration by the judiciary in common law jurisdictions (as opposed to civil law jurisdictions) when faced with issues around forum shopping.
– Practical problems associated with applications for recognition in the case of groups of companies.
– EU and non-EU companies and the shifting of COMI to facilitate restructurings*.
*please note that the technical programme may be subject to change.

Webinar timings:
– 8am New York
– 1pm UK
– 2pm The Netherlands
– 3pm Romania

Panel duration: 1 Hour
For more information click here.

Evenimente conexe